SVS Elects New Officers for 2019

NATIONAL HARBOR, Md., June 28, 2019 – At its annual business meeting, the Society for Vascular Surgery elected new leaders for the 2019-20 year.

Elected were: Dr. Kim J. Hodgson, president; Dr. Ronald L. Dalman, president-elect and Dr. Ali AbuRahma, vice president. Dr. Samuel R. Money was retained as treasurer and Dr. Amy B. Reed joined the leadership board as secretary. Outgoing president Dr. Michel S. Makaroun has become chair of the SVS Foundation for the coming year.

Dr. Kim J. HodgsonNew president Dr. Hodgson is the David Sumner Professor and chair of the division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield, Ill., a position he has held since 1999.  He also serves as the medical director of the David S. Sumner Vascular Laboratory at Memorial Medical Center.



Ronald L. DalmanNew president-elect Dr. Dalman is the Walter C. and Elsa R. Chidester Professor and chief of vascular surgery at Stanford University. He also serves as co-director of the Cardiovascular Institute, the Cardiovascular Service Line, and Associate Dean for Market Development at Stanford Medicine.



Ali AbuRahmaDr. AbuRahma, vice president, is a professor of surgery, chief of vascular and endovascular surgery and director of the vascular surgery fellowship and integrated residency programs at West Virginia University, Charleston, W.Va. He also serves as the medical director of the vascular laboratory and co-director of the Vascular Center of Excellence at Charleston Area Medical Center.



Michel S. MakarounAs chair of the charitable arm of the SVS, Dr. Makaroun will oversee the foundation’s competitive, peer-reviewed, grant-making initiatives, which are made possible by contributions from members, medical societies and corporations. While serving as president, Dr. Makaroun was instrumental in launching this year’s Vascular Spectacular gala at the SVS annual meeting, an event that sold out quickly and proved to be an excellent fundraiser for the Foundation.


Amy ReedDr. Reed, a newcomer to the lineup, is division chief of vascular surgery and director of Fairview Vascular Services at the University of Minnesota. She has been the president of the Association of Program Directors in Vascular Surgery.




Dr. Money, MBA, is a professor of surgery with the Mayo Clinic, Phoenix, Ariz. In addition to his service on the executive board, he has served on the physician wellness task force and the Foundation board of directors. He has served as treasurer since 2017.