SVS-APSA Pediatric Vascular Initiative


The SVS and the American Pediatric Surgical Association (APSA) have joined together to create a collaborative, interdisciplinary task force to address gaps in pediatric vascular care and ultimately advance the understanding and care of pediatric patients.

This initiative is focused on identifying key areas of concentration for collaborative education, guideline development, and training needed across the vascular and pediatric surgery fields.

Recorded Sessions

Developmental Vascular Disease

Recorded on March 21, 2024
This session features a multidisciplinary and multi-center discussion of developmental vascular anomalies not limited to arteriovenous malformations and renovascular hypertension.


Extracorporeal Life Support: Cannulation Strategies, Decannulation Strategies & Long Term Follow Up

Recorded on October 18, 2023
The goals of this session are to:

  • Review options for veno-venous and veno-arterial extracorporeal life support (ECLS) cannulation in neonates, young children, and adolescents, with a discussion on reperfusion cannula placement.
  • Review options for decannulation after VV or VA ECLS, with a focus on the pros/cons of arterial and venous reconstruction.
  • Highlight the importance of long-term follow-up and the lack of longitudinal data on this topic.
  • Highlight the benefits and challenges of multidisciplinary partnerships between pediatric surgeons and adult vascular surgeons in the care of these patients.


Pediatric Vascular Trauma

Recorded on June 15, 2023
At the Society for Vascular Surgery 2023 Vascular Annual Meeting, the faculty led a case-based session on pediatric vascular trauma.


Share Your Feedback

Please share your feedback or ideas with us for future pediatric vascular surgery interest group topics.

Pediatric Patient and Doctor

Task Force Members

SVS Members
Dawn Coleman, MD, SVS Co-Chair
John White, MD, SVS Co-Chair
Sateesh Babu, MD
Mohammed Eslami, MD
Mohammed Moursi, MD
Michael Rohrer, MD
Claudie Sheahan, MD

APSA Members
David Rothstein, MD, APSA Co-Chair
Regan Williams, MD, APSA Co-Chair
Stephen Dunn, MD
David Notrica, MD
Tim Schaub, MD
Sandra Tomita, MD