Awards at the 2017 Vascular Annual Meeting

Jul 20, 2017
Presidential Citations

Seven members receive Presidential Citations for having "generously gone above and beyond in giving their time to SVS initiatives," said Dr. Ronald Fairman. Recipients: Dr. Cynthia Shortell, for SVS’ overall educational mission, and Dr. Audra A. Duncan, chair, Resident and Student Outreach Committee; Dr. Ronald Dalman, program chair of the Vascular Annual Meeting; Dr. Russell Samson, editor of Vascular Specialist; Dr. Randall DeMartino, chair, PAC Steering Committee; Dr. Keith Calligaro, chair of the Ethics and Professional Conduct Committee. Dr. Eugene Langan also received a Presidential Citation for his work as chair of the Audit Committee.

Greenberg Lecture

Dr. Tara Mastracci receives her plaque for presenting the Roy Greenberg Distinguished Lecture, "Aneurysms Don’t Know Borders," from Dr. Ronald Fairman.

SVS PAC Winner

Dr. Randall DeMartino presents the Regional Society SVS PAC contest winner award to Dr. Michael Dalsing of the Midwestern Vascular Surgical Society. A total of 13 percent of the group’s members contributed to the Political Action Committee. Dr. DeMartino noted 7 percent of SVS members contributed during this most recent fiscal year, with an average donation of $53, and challenged all members to help. "The SVS PAC is your voice for your future," he said. "Our voice is going to be directly related to how big our PAC is."

JVS Awards

Editors of the Journal of Vascular Surgery publications honor three senior authors. Dr. Thomas Michael Proebstle received the 2016 Most Highly Cited Article Award for an article in the Journal of Vascular Surgery: Venous and Lymphatic Disorders. Dr. Joseph L. Mills, Sr. received the same award for an article in JVS; and Dr. Jayer Chung, M.Sc., received the 2016 Best Reviewer Award.

Women’s Leadership Training Grants

Drs. Grace Wang, Misty Humphries and April Boyd receive Women’s Leadership Training Grants. Dr. Ronald Fairman announced that due to the program’s popularity and success, it will be expanded for 2018 to six recipients.

SVS Foundation Winners

Several SVS members are honored for receiving research grants from the SVS Foundation. Recipients and their awards are: Dr. Karen Woo and Dr. Mohamed Zayed, both K08 Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award; Dr. Andrew Kimball, Resident Research Award; Dr. Dawn Coleman, Clinical Research Seed Grant; Dr. Sean English, Wylie Scholar Award (co-sponsored by VascularCures); Dr. Jeffrey Siracuse and Dr. Misty Humphries, both Research Career Development Travel Awards, which debuted this year. Dr. Zayed also received the travel award.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Herbert Dardik receives the prestigious SVS Lifetime Achievement Award from Dr. Ronald Fairman.

Poster Winners

Winners of the annual VAM Poster Competition receive their awards from Dr. R. Clement Darling III and Dr. Venita Chandra. Mark Rockley, first place; Luc Dubois, second place; and Anna Boniakowski, third place.

Distinguished Fellows

Four members are honored with the Distinguished Fellows Award from Dr. Ron Fairman and Dr. Amy Reed. Recipients have distinguished themselves in a sustained manner by making substantial contributions in two of three categories: research, service or education. This year’s recipient are: Drs. Christian Bianchi, Matthew Mell, Timothy Nypaver, and Heron Enrique Rodriguez.

International Scholars

The International Scholars Program provides scholarships for up to four young vascular surgeons from outside North America to spend approximately two weeks in the United States, attending VAM and visiting clinical, teaching and research programs. This year’s recipients are pictured with Dr. Robert Crawford and Dr. Wayne Zhang, co-chairs of the International Relations Committee. The recipients are: Dr. Wei Cheng, Beijing, China; Michele Piazza, Padova, Italy; Dr. Damir Vakhitov, Kangasala, Finland; and Dr. Zilun Li, Guangzhou, China.

Fogarty Award

Rachael Forsythe receives the Dr. Thomas J. Fogarty Award, part of the Young Surgeons Competition held during International Fast Talk. 

Photos from nearly every session at the 2017 Vascular Annual Meeting are available for viewing on Flickr here.

Related Articles