Medal for Innovation in Vascular Surgery

Sponsored by SVS

Submission Deadline: March 1



Candidates for the Society for Vascular Surgery® (SVS) Medal for Innovation in Vascular Surgery must be individuals whose contributions have had a transforming impact on the practice or science of vascular surgery.


The award is open to professionals in the specialty of vascular surgery, vascular medicine or vascular research. This includes vascular surgeons, other medical and surgical professionals and non-surgeons involved in vascular research or clinical vascular care. A candidate does not need to be a member of the SVS.

An individual may be nominated on a singular innovation or a body of work. If two or more individuals have contributed to the advance, the award will be made to both individuals.

Nomination Procedures

  • Candidates must be nominated by a member of SVS. No individual may nominate himself or herself for the award.
  • A completed nomination form along with a CV and description of the innovation are required for consideration.
  • The SVS Awards and Distinctions Committee will review the nominations and serve as the selection committee for the award.

Although a Call for Nominations will be made annually, the award need not be given each year. The award will be presented during the SVS Vascular Annual Meeting. Recipients of the SVS Medal for Innovation in Vascular Surgery are not excluded from receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Deadline for Submission: 

March 1 is the deadline to submit nominations​​​. [PDF]

Past Recipients

Robert L. Kistner, MD

Edward Diethrich, MD

Roy Greenberg, MD

Thomas Fogarty, MD

Timothy A.M Chuter, DM

Juan Parodi, MD





Back to Top


ATTN: Awards and Distnctions Committee

9400 W. Higgins Road
Suite 315
Rosemont, IL 60118
United States