Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by SVS

Submission Deadline: March 1
Download the Application Here

The Society for Vascular Surgery® (SVS) Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor the SVS bestows on one of its members. Selection for this honor recognizes an individual’s outstanding and sustained contributions both to the profession and to SVS, as well as exemplary professional practice and leadership. Any SVS member in good standing may nominate a candidate for the award by downloading the Nomination Form (download the form) and submitting it along with and supporting documentation. 

Selection Criteria

Candidates for the SVS Lifetime Achievement Award should be individuals who have exhibited outstanding leadership within the specialty as outlined below and who possess exceptional personal integrity and highest standards. Specific requirements to be considered in evaluating nominees include the following:

1. Contributions to SVS and other vascular societies

  • Leadership that has influenced standards and professional practice
  • Program, governance and committee activity
  • Nominees would have been president or held another major leadership position in a regional or national vascular specialty society, or SVS

2. Contributions to vascular education

  • Has led a fellowship and trained other renowned surgeons
  • Conducted unique educational forums, e.g. postgraduate fellowships or renowned postgraduate courses
  • Organized meetings
  • Given invited lectures
  • Exhibited innovation in education
  • Received teaching awards

3. Contributions to vascular basic science or clinical research

  • Has received continued grant support
  • Has mentored / worked with graduate students for research
  • Been a member/chair of grant review panel

4. Active and productive clinical surgeon

5. Special contributions to the field

  • Has made contributions that elevate the national and/or international stature of the specialty of vascular surgery
  • Performed regulatory, political or governmental work that advances the specialty
  • Developed pioneering technique or concept 
  • Participated in device development
  • Developed a process innovation
  • Holds patents
  • Made other advancements in vascular surgery

6. Publications

  • Number and quality
  • Impact on specialty
  • Member editorial board
  • Editor of major journal or text

7.  Other honors received

8.  Extramural activities that further the goals of the SVS and the profession

Nomination Process

Nominations will be reviewed by the SVS Awards & Distinctions Committee, which will determine the award recipient. Although a call for nominations will be made annually, the award may not be awarded each year. More than one award may be made per year. The SVS Awards & Distinctions Committee may also place names into nomination for the award. The award will be made during the Vascular Annual Meeting.

Past Recipients

SVS Lifetime Achievement Award

Julie Ann Freischlag, MD
Enrico Ascher, MD

Jonathan B. Towne, MD

2020 (received at VAM in 2021)
Robert B. Smith III, MD

William Pearce, MD

Gregorio Sicard, MD

Herbert Dardik, MD

Jack L. Cronenwett, MD

Alexander W. Clowes, MD

John Mannick, MD

Norman Rich, MD
Frank LoGerfo, MD

James C. Stanley, MD

Wesley S. Moore, MD

David S. Sumner, MD
Frank Veith, MD

K. Wayne Johnston, MD

James Yao, MD

Ronald Stoney, MD

Robert Rutherford, MD 

SVS Distinguished Service Award

Anthony Imparato, MD

James DeWeese, MD

Jesse Thompson, MD

Emerick D. Szilagyi, MD

Michael E. DeBakey, MD

Richard Warren, MD

Back to Top


9400 West Higgins Road
Suite 315
Rosemont, IL 60018
United States