SVS Elects New Leaders for 2018-19

Jul 10, 2018

CHICAGO, Ill., July 1, 2018 – New leaders were elected at the June annual business meeting of the Society for Vascular Surgery in Boston. They are:

[[{"fid":"1307","view_mode":"default","fields":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"1":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"height":3000,"width":2400,"style":"width: 100px; height: 125px; margin-left: 6px; margin-right: 6px; float: left;","class":"media-element file-default","data-delta":"1"}}]]Dr. Michel S. Makaroun, President. Dr. Makaroun served as president-elect during the past year and will serve as president of the SVS for one year. He has been active in the SVS in a variety of roles since 1997 and served as secretary from 2013-2016. He is a distinguished fellow of the SVS, and is professor and chair of vascular surgery and of clinical and translational science at the University of Pittsburgh. He is also co-director of the UPMC Heart and Vascular Institute. As president, Dr. Makaroun will focus on the impending shortage of vascular surgeons and the critical need to develop more training programs and fellowship opportunities.

[[{"fid":"1309","view_mode":"default","fields":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"2":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"height":438,"width":350,"style":"height: 125px; width: 100px; margin-left: 6px; margin-right: 6px; float: left;","class":"media-element file-default","data-delta":"2"}}]]Dr. Kim J. Hodgson, President-Elect. Dr. Hodgson, vice president for the past year, also served as treasurer for the SVS as well as on several committees and the SVS board of directors. He was the inaugural editor of VESAP and continued in that role for two more editions. He is chair of the division of vascular surgery at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield, Ill., and holds the David Sumner endowed chair in Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, and has served for six years on the Vascular Surgery Board.

[[{"fid":"1236","view_mode":"default","fields":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"3":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"height":420,"width":300,"style":"height: 140px; width: 100px; margin-left: 6px; margin-right: 6px; float: left;","class":"media-element file-default","data-delta":"3"}}]]Dr. Ronald L. Dalman, Vice President. Dr. Ronald Dalman was elected as vice president of the Society. Previously Dr. Dalman served three years as program chair of the Vascular Annual Meeting and has served on the SVS Board of Directors, the Patient Safety Organization Governing Council, the Education and Research Councils, as well as the PAC Steering, Document Oversight, SVS Foundation Development, Membership, Publications and PSO EVAR Cost committees.

Dr. Dalman is the Walter C. and Elsa R. Chidester Professor of Surgery and chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery at Stanford University. He serves on the Vascular Surgery Board of the American Board of Surgery and was a member of the Residency Review Committee for Surgery - Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education. Dr. Dalman earned his medical degree at the University of Michigan and has been on the faculty of Stanford Surgery since 1992.

[[{"fid":"1245","view_mode":"default","fields":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"4":{"format":"default","alignment":"","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"height":228,"width":153,"style":"height: 149px; width: 100px; margin-left: 6px; margin-right: 6px; float: left;","class":"media-element file-default","data-delta":"4"}}]]Outgoing President Dr. R. Clement Darling, Chair of the SVS Foundation. As chair of the charitable arm of the SVS, Dr. Darling will oversee the foundation’s competitive, peer-reviewed, grant-making initiatives, which are made possible by contributions from members, medical societies and corporations. Dr. Darling has been active in the leadership of the society for more than 27 years, serving on numerous SVS committees, on the board of directors and on the executive committee.

Dr. Darling is president of The Vascular Group, Albany; director of The Institute for Vascular Health and Disease, and chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery at Albany Medical Center Hospital. He also is professor of surgery at Albany Medical College. Rounding out the leadership roster, Dr. Samuel R. Money, treasurer, and Dr. Ali AbuRahma, secretary, will continue in their respective positions.



Related Articles