Basic and Translational Research Committee

ACCME Standards

The Education Council and Committees oversee the development and implementation of CME activities and as such volunteers must adhere to The Standards for Integrity and Independence in Accredited Continuing Education.  Per these requirements, owners, executives and employees of ineligible companies (formerly known as commercial interest) are considered to have unresolvable financial relationships and must be excluded from participating as planners or faculty.  These individuals cannot influence or control any aspect of the planning, delivery, or evaluation of accredited continuing education, except in the limited circumstances outlined in Standard 3.2.  All volunteers involved as planners or faculty will be required to disclose all financial relationships within the prior 24 months.  

Basic and Translational Research Committee

  • Manages SVS Foundation research awards program.
  • Manages annual Vascular Research Initiatives Conference and Vascular Annual Meeting research activities.

Committee Members

Katherine Gallagher, MD  – Chair             Andrea Obi, MD                                   
Mohamed Zayed, MD  -  Vice-Chair Irablis Pipinos, MD
Ann Gaffey, MD Elsie Ross, MD 
Katie Hekman, MD Jean Marie Ruddy, MD  
Caitlin Hicks, MD Michael Rosenbaum, MD
Kathryn Howe, MD Kevin Southerland, MD
Kimberly Malka, MD Gale Tang, MD

If you have any questions regarding this committee, please contact:  Tarah LeBreton at and Sarah Murphy at