You are here

Program Administrators

Association of Program Administrators in Vascular Surgery (APAVS)


The APAVS is a forum for the interchange of ideas and information related to the education of vascular surgery fellows and integrated vascular residents.  APAVS members assist in the identification and solution of educational and administrative problems that may arise in the conduct of vascular surgery residency and fellowship programs and serve as the advocate of resident education in the various professional agencies, boards, councils and committees that influence the specialty of Vascular Surgery.

2020 Annual Meeting

APDVS/AVSC 2020 Spring Meeting

The APDVS has been closely monitoring the various restrictions and travel bans across the United States secondary to the COVID-19 pandemic. Out of abundant concern for our program directors, coordinators, trainees, exhibitors, and staff, the decision has been made to cancel the meeting. There will be no virtual meeting offered to replace the previously scheduled Friday afternoon program session or the Saturday business meeting. We deeply regret any inconvenience this has caused our attendees. An alternative date for late August 2020 is being considered along with virtual and video capabilities – if the current state of the pandemic allows.

For the attendees who made hotel reservations, please call the Loews Chicago O’Hare Hotel directly at 877-868-9134 to cancel your reservation. Please note we encourage you to cancel your hotel reservation as soon as possible. Reservations are refundable if the reservation is canceled 72 hours prior to your scheduled arrival.

Please contact your airline directly regarding ticket cancellations. If you purchased travel insurance, please contact your provider for information and next steps.


Program Agenda

Loews Chicago O’Hare

5300 N. River Road
Rosemont, IL  60018
Phone: 847-544-5300
Fax: 847-447-4281
Hotel Website

2019 Annual Meeting

The 2019 AVSC Meeting was held on March 29-30 at the Loews Chicago O’Hare Hotel.



Past Meetings

The Association of Vascular Surgery Coordinators (AVSC) held its first meeting in conjunction with the APDVS meeting in Chicago, Illinois April 16-17, 2010. Thirty-five vascular surgery coordinators attended the meeting. Sessions topics included:

  • Integrated Residency Programs
  • Rolling Calendar
  • ACGME & RRC Update
  • The Surgical Principle Exam
  • PIF Preparation and Site Visit Tips
  • Annual Program Review
  • Online Evaluation Systems
  • Dealing with Problem Residents

Several of the Program Directors led sessions and the coordinators joined the PD’s for various presentations. The AVSC will continue to meet in conjunction with the APDVS meeting.

APAVS Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of the APAVS is made up of the association’s officers and councilors-at-large::

President: Mark Byrne, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (Pittsburgh, PA)

President-Elect: Maria Velasco, UCLA Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery (Los Angeles, CA)

Secretary: Trina Smidt, University of Colorado School of Medicine (Aurora, CO)

Immediate Past President: Lauren Talhelm, C-TAGME, Penn State Hershey Heart and Vascular Institute (Hershey, PA)

Councilors-At-Large: Nicole Althage, Washington University in St. Louis (St. Louis, MO); Hayley Baldzicki, Cleveland Clinic (Cleveland, OH); Cameron Davis, Atrium Health (Charlotte, NC); Toni Harris, C-TAGME, University of Nebraska Medical Center (Omaha, NE); and Jenna Little, Northwestern Medicine (Chicago, IL)

Steering Committee Application

APAVS Bylaws


The APAVS invites all vascular surgery coordinators, administrators, program managers, and educators to join the organization.  Please complete the online membership application and contact Mark Byrne ​( for more information.

The APAVS looks forward to growing each year and providing valuable information for all program administrators involved in training vascular residents and fellows. 

General Information


Updated May 2020