You are here

23rd Annual Max R. Gaspar, MD Symposium: Carotid Artery Disease and Acute Stroke: Current Treatment Strategies

Los Angeles, CA
Sep. 5, 2019
Millennium Biltmore Hotel, 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
May 30 to Aug 30


Max R. Gaspar, MD, was an attending surgeon at the Los Angeles County Hospital for over fifty years, and served as a Senior Vascular Attending at LAC+USC for twenty-five years. His teaching and scholarly accomplishments have had a lasting impact on vascular surgery in Southern California. This annual symposium addresses topics of interest to physicians and surgeons who care for the patient with vascular disease. 

A distinguished faculty is assembled for the symposium, designed to update the attendee on innovation and new strategies. Sixteen didactic lectures will be given to encompass the topics. Panel discussions will be utilized to encourage audience participation. This year, we are delighted to have Dr. Bruce A. Perler, as our Gaspar Visiting Professor, the Julius H. Jacobson, II, Professor of Surgery, at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.


7:00 am - Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:00 am - Course Overview
Session I: Asymptomatic Carotid Stenosis
Session II: Carotid Stenting/Endarterectomy
Invited Lecture by Gaspar Visiting Professor, Dr. Bruce A. Perler, MD, MBA
Session III: Symptomatic Carotid Stenosis
Session IV: Care of the Cerebrovascular Patient

Course Directors 

Fred A. Weaver, MD, MMM
Chief and Professor of Surgery
Co-Director, CardioVascular Thoracic Institute
Division of Vascular Surgery & Endovascular Therapy
Department of Surgery

Vincent L. Rowe, MD
Professor of Clinical Surgery
Co-Director, Southwestern Academic Limb Salvage Alliance
Division of Vascular Surgery & Endovascular Therapy
Department of Surgery



Arun Paul Amar, MD
Sebina Bulic, MD
Steven L. Giannotta, MD
Sukgu M. Han, MD, MS
William M. Lee, MD
William J. Mack, MD, MS
Gregory A. Magee, MD, MSc
Nerses Sanossian, MD


Muhammad Hasan, MBBCh
Mahmoud Malas, MD, MHS
Bruce A. Perler, MD, MBA
Peter A. Schneider, MD
Wei Zhou, MD