Lifetime Achievement Award

Submission Deadline: March 1

The Society for Vascular Surgery® (SVS) Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor that the SVS bestows on one of its members. Selection for this honor recognizes an individual’s outstanding and sustained contributions both to the profession and to SVS, as well as exemplary professional practice and leadership. Any SVS member in good standing may nominate a candidate for the award by submitting a Nomination Form (download the form) and supporting documentation. 

Selection Criteria

Candidates for the SVS Lifetime Achievement Award should be individuals who have exhibited outstanding leadership within the specialty as outlined below and who possess exceptional personal integrity and highest standards. Specific requirements to be considered in evaluating nominees include the following:

1. Contributions to SVS and other vascular societies

  • Leadership that has influenced standards and professional practice
  • Program, governance, and committee activity
  • Nominees would have been president or held another major leadership position in a regional or national vascular specialty society, or SVS

2. Contributions to vascular education

  • Has led a fellowship and trained other renown surgeons
  • Unique educational forums, e.g. post-graduate fellowships or renown post-graduate courses
  • Organization of meetings
  • Invited lectures
  • Innovation in education
  • Teaching awards

3. Contributions to vascular basic science or clinical research

  • Continued grant support
  • Graduate students
  • Member/chair of grant review panel

4. Active and productive clinical surgeon

5. Special contributions to the field

  • Contributions that elevate the national and/or international stature of the specialty of vascular surgery
  • Regulatory, political, or governmental work that advances the specialty
  • Pioneering technique or concept
  • Device development
  • Process innovation
  • Patents
  • Other advancements in vascular surgery

6. Publications

  • Number and quality
  • Impact on specialty
  • Member editorial board
  • Editor of major journal or text

7.  Other honors received

8.  Extramural activities that further the goals of the SVS and the profession

Nomination Process

Nominations will be reviewed by the SVS Fellows Committee, who will determine the award recipient. Although a call for nominations will be made annually, the award may not be awarded each year. More than one award may be made per year. The SVS Fellows Committee may also place names into nomination for the award. The award will be made during the SVS Vascular Annual Meeting.

Past Recipients

SVS Lifetime Achievement Award

William Pearce, MD

Gregorio Sicard, MD

Herbert Dardik, MD

Jack L. Cronenwett, MD

Alexander W. Clowes, MD

John Mannick, MD

Norman Rich, MD
Frank LoGerfo, MD

James C. Stanley, MD

Wesley S. Moore, MD

David S. Sumner, MD
Frank Veith, MD

K. Wayne Johnston, MD

James Yao, MD

Ronald Stoney, MD

Robert Rutherford, MD 

SVS Distinguished Service Award

Anthony Imparato, MD

James DeWeese, MD

Jesse Thompson, MD

Emerick D. Szilagyi, MD

Michael E. DeBakey, MD

Richard Warren, MD