Leadership Development Award

The Leadership Development Award Program is intended to support and accelerate vascular surgeons as leaders in the specialty, workplace, and community.  

The Leadership Development Committee and the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee are committed to expanding leadership training opportunities for under-represented individuals within vascular surgery. Up to five $1,000 awards are provided to support an awardee's leadership education activities. Awardees are expected to make a commitment to participating in the Leadership Development Program and to future service to the SVS. 


  • Academic, VA, or community-based vascular surgeon practicing in the US or Canada
  • 5-10 years from completion of vascular surgery training
  • from an under-represented group within vascular surgery

Award Application Process and Funding
Award recipients are selected by the Leadership Development Committee from among the cohort selected for the annual Leadership Development Program (LDP). Applications are evaluated based on the quality of the essay, previous and current leadership roles, and future leadership potential. 

The $1,000 award may be used for any leadership development activities, including course registration fees. Funds will be distributed to the awardee or to the awardee's institution.  

2021 Recipients

Elizabeth Blazick, MD

Maine Medical Center, Portland, ME

LeAnn Chavez, MD

University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

Yana Etkin, MD

Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, New Hyde Park, NY

Erin Koelling, MD

Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, Bethesda, MD

Gabriela Velazquez, MD

Wake Forest School of Medicine, Salem, NC


For questions, email membership@vascularsociety.org or telephone 1-800-258-7188.